Share

Troy MI License Restoration Blog

Sunday, January 25, 2015

NON-MICHIGAN RESIDENT? VISITING MICHIGAN? CONVICTED OF 2ND DUI IN MICHIGAN? YOUR DRIVING ON BORROWED TIME!!

Many people currently facing this dilemma are not even aware of their peril. They will find out soon enough.

The fact is, whatever the nature of your visit to Michigan, be it business or pleasure, if you find yourself in the unenviable position of pleading to a 2nd drinking and driving offense in this State, the Secretary of State will, upon receiving notice of the conviction, revoke the Out-of-State drivers’ privileges to use his license to drive in Michigan. Because that’s all Out-of-State driver had, that is, Michigan’s approval of Out-of-State driver using his home States’ license to establish driving privileges in Michigan. And, conversely, that’s all Michigan has the power to do. Michigan has no power to suspend or revoke a license issued by another State but the State can revoke Out-of-State drivers’ privileges to drive here in Michigan.

 These “privileges” are revoked from between 1-5 years and until a successful petition is granted by the DAAD (drivers assessment and appeal division) of the Michigan Secretary of State. The period of revocation is dictated by the amount of convictions one compiles within a specific time frame, i.e.:

  • 2 convictions within 7 years will saddle driver with a one year revocation, and;
  • 3 convictions within 10 years will penalize driver with a five year revocation.

The problem can be compounded by the delay before the driver becomes aware. This “awareness” punches driver in the face usually when they go to re-new their license. This is when the driver’s home DMV conducts a check of the network. At this point the check will expose the Michigan driving sanctions. It will show up as a “hold” on the driver’s privileges in Michigan. The DMV will deny driver’s request to re-new his home State driver’s license until he “clears” the hold in Michigan.

 Subsequent revelations will undoubtedly worsen drivers’ already anxious state of mind. YES, you do have to go to Michigan to deal with it!!

But getting back to that delay… consider this, in Michigan a driver re-news his license every four years; if Out-of-State driver picks up a 2nd drinking and driving conviction  in Michigan and just re-newed  his home State license, he may have another four years before he goes to re-new. If his DMV never has a reason to check drivers’ record, they may not discover it until driver goes to re-new. So drivers’ ability to resolve the revocation will have been delayed by three years. (Remember he has a one year revocation whether he knows about it or not.)

The best approach follows an old adage, “knowledge is power”. If you received a 2nd or 3rd drinking and or drugging and driving in Michigan and are an out-of-State resident, call the Law Offices of Martin Lievois in Troy at 248-419-1566 or in Flint at 810-250-4550. Hard revocations are mandatory but the day they expire is the day driver is eligible for relief; the longer you wait the longer your life is on hold.



Archived Posts

2017
2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January
2014


Criminal Law News



© 2017 Martin T. Lievois, Attorney at Law | Disclaimer
934 Church Street, Flint, MI 48502
| Phone: 810-232-3223
1680 Crooks Road, Troy, MI 48084
| Phone: 248-498-2525

License Restoration | DWI/DUI Defense | License Suspension | Drug Crimes | Traffic Violations | Expungements | Felonies | Misdemeanors | Criminal Law Attorney Troy MI | Criminal Law Attorney Flint MI | Criminal Defense | Attorney Profile | FAQS

Law Firm Website Design by
Zola Creative


© Martin T. Lievois, Attorney at Law | Disclaimer | Law Firm Website Design by Amicus Creative